Li Zhou, Shiyi ;Life of a Chinese person licence on Spanish literature and philology.


Date:18 May 2012

My name is Li Zhou ,Shiji.
I have a degree in Spanish Philology and I live in Madrid, although I am from China where I was born and grow.
I have honors in International Studies Politics and Economics and also am the director of Department of Chinese at the New International Centre College of Madrid.

Mi nombre es Li Zhou, Shiji.
Soy Licenciada en Filología Hispánica y vivo en Madrid, aunque soy de China, donde nací y crecí.
Tengo matrícula de honor Altos Estudios Internacionales en Política y Economía y, además, soy directora de Departamento de chino en el New Centre International College de Madrid.
By/ Por: Virginia Mazón

What is your native country? Y what city did you grow up?
My native country is China and I grow up in Beijing.

What have been your studies and did you graduate?
I have a degree in Spanish literature and philology.

How did you get the idea of pursuing a career in Spanish philology?
I have always like languages, my whole life.

When did you come to Spain for the first time?
I came for the first time in 1999.

I would like, if it’s possible, you could tell me about your stay here, in Spain. As jobs, teaching, and city of residence…
I came the first time as an intern in the Spanish agency for international cooperation. Then I studied information science at the Complutense University of Madrid. And then I came back in a year and started working with companies, China’s embassy and then with Mapfre, with the company Mapfre. Then I began to teach, I love teaching, I feel more valued. And now I teach Chinese and Chinese culture in different education centers.

In reference to your working life, have you worked with issues related to international relations?
Almost all my life. I was a national correspondent for the Chinese press. Traveling to other destinations as a correspondent, we covered top-level events such as the Olympics, the United Nations meetings and then at the regional level, South America and other Spanish-speaking countries, covering all political summits, industrial and other. Always trying to get close to the Chinese embassy.

Would you might to argue about who is been working in newspapers in large organization such as is the UN?
The best, for me has always seemed the best experience of my life, because you know a higher level what is happening in the world and you find out what people on the street does not know ever. You start to look at everything with a broader and more objective.

In which other countries have you been living?
China, Argentina and Spain. And traveling arround many others.

What were you doing during your stay in Argentina?
Intended as a correspondent in the Chinese press.

Do you have plans to go back to china?
Oh, I for myself I will go tomorrow. Much, in recent years as I see my city Beijing has improved a lot has a spectacular development with all that entails problems, and good things or bad things. In general has improved a lot and I have really wanted to live, which I lost in the last 10 years. Because of being in Spain I could not live nearby.

Are you still going to China often?
Yes, at least onces at year.

Does China shows any difference from four years ago? That is, China as a great power has been developed over the years, yes, but is that what you can feel when you go to China?
It scares me a lot, is impossible. I return to my city and I get lost, because I don’t know the streets, there are lots of new construction and there is a change not only the city’s physical but socio-economic development. Is huge, very big. But I think overall is positive, but like all societies there are people who are affected.

Currently, is China still poor as it was years ago?
Is that China has different realities. China has a highly developed (the area of the coast) has never been too bad. What happens is that there is another China that China is the deep, rural China; agriculture still lacks a lot of promotion, which I think is doing the Chinese government to improve a lot and I think that has always existed and will exist in poverty a country as large in certain regions. I wish that will improve, but do not notice it as something neither new nor of a lifetime. I think that’s what happens to a country as large. As the U.S., which has a social layer but many know that the U.S. has many problems, what happens is that China is a taboo subject.

Is censorship a controversial issue today? Do you think that people is affected by it, or believe that is just a form of security?
I believe that China has much control of the press, but I from my own experience I have no problem doing propaganda to anything because I’ve lived out many years. For me, no country or press is completely objective in all countries is controlled by the interests of something or someone. In China is very controlled but I always trust that control completely is for the good of all because it is a country that cannot afford any kind of political instability because it can cause a disastrous change for most people.

Is shown censorship in the U.S. or China?

Li Zhou, Shiji in the right side. Virginia Mazon in the left side.

I cannot compare, but we have to be very objective. We cannot criticize without knowing the U.S. the press is at the hands of the Jews because they are the most powerful economically, and then in China is more political. But I believe that anyone, from the point of view of a Westerner has to understand that is a country with large populations and not as much land as is believed, because there is a third party that is uninhabitable. So with so many people, if it is not controlled with a strong hand could be very dangerous. I strongly agree with that.

What is your vision of the near future? Would you like to return to your home country or stay more years living in Spain?Unfortunately everyone knows that now Spain is going through a very bad step and I personally am not going too badly because exactly why China and the Chinese are having more work but still I have a lot like going to China to live. To li

ve a good stage of China and to escape a worse stage of Spain everyone is suffering.Thank you very much for attending this interview Zhou Li, Shiji, I hope not to have taken a long time.

¿Cuál es su país natal? y ¿En qué ciudad creció?
Mi país natal es China y crecí en Pekín.

¿Cuáles han sido tus estudios y en qué te has graduado?
Soy licenciada en literatura española o filología hispánica.

¿Cómo se te ocurrió la idea de estudiar la carrera de filología hispánica?
Siempre me han gustado los idiomas, toda la vida.

¿Cuándo viniste a España por primera vez?
Vine por primera vez en el año 1999.

Me gustaría, si fuera posible, que me comentaras un poco sobre su estancia aquí, en España. En cuanto, a trabajo, enseñanza, ciudad de residencia…
Yo vine la primera vez como becaria, en la agencia española de cooperación internacional. Luego estudié ciencia s de información en la Universidad Complutense de Madrid. Y luego, volví en un año y empecé a trabajar con empresas, con la embajada China y luego con Mapfre, con la empresa Mapfre. Después, me puse a enseñara, me gusta mucho la enseñanza, me siento más valorada. Y me dedico ahora a enseñar chino y la cultura china en distintos centro de educación.

En referencia a su vida laboral, ¿has trabajado con asuntos vinculados con las relaciones internacionales?
Muchísimas casi toda la vida. Yo era corresponsal nacional de la prensa china. Viajaba a otros destinos como corresponsal, cubríamos eventos de máximo nivel como por ejemplo, los juegos olímpicos, las reuniones de las Naciones Unidas y luego a nivel regional, Sudamérica y otros países de habla hispana, cubriendo todas las cumbres políticas, económicas, etc. Siempre procurando estrechamiento con la embajada china.

¿Podrías comentar cómo ha sido eso de trabajar para periódicos en grandes organizaciones como lo es la ONU?
La mejor, para mí siempre me ha parecido la mejor experiencia de mi vida, porque conoces a un nivel más elevado lo que está pasando en el mundo y te enteras de lo que la gente de la calle no se entera nunca. Empiezas a mirar todas las cosas con una visión más amplia y más objetiva.

¿En qué otros países has estado viviendo?
China, Argentina y España. Y viajando por muchos países.

¿Qué estuvo haciendo durante su estancia en Argentina?
Como corresponsal destinada de la prensa china.

¿Tiene planes de volver a China?
Oh, yo por mí mañana mismo. Mucho, los últimos años como veo mi ciudad Pekín ha mejorado mucho, tiene un desarrollo espectacular con todo lo que conlleva de problemas, y cosas buenas o cosas malas. En general ha mejorado muchísimo y tengo muchas ganas de vivirlo, cosa que he perdido en los últimos 10 años. Por estar en España no he podido vivir de cerca.

¿Sigues volviendo a China de vez en cuando?
Sí, casi siempre, todos los años por lo menos una vez.

¿Se muestra en China alguna diferencia con respecto a cuatro años atrás?, es decir, ¿China, como gran potencia ha ido desarrollando a lo largo de los años, sí, pero ¿eso lo nota usted cuando vuelve a China?
Me asusta casi. Muchísimo, es imposible. Yo cuando vuelvo a mi ciudad me pierdo, porque las calles no las conozco, hay muchísima construcción nueva y hay un cambio no sólo físico de la ciudad sino socio-económico. Es abismal, es muy grande. Pero yo creo que en general es positivo, aunque como todas las sociedades hay gente que está afectada.

Actualmente, ¿sigue China siendo tan pobre como lo era años atrás?
Es que China siempre tiene diferentes realidades. China tiene la China muy desarrollada (la zona de la costa) que nunca ha estado demasiado mal. Lo que pasa es que existe otra China que es la China profunda, la China campesina, agrícola que le falta todavía mucha promoción, cosa que creo que está haciendo el gobierno chino para mejorarlo mucho y yo creo que siempre ha existido y existirá la pobreza en un país tan grande en ciertas regiones. Ojalá que se mejore, pero no lo noto como algo ni nuevo ni de toda la vida. Creo que es lo que sucede con un país tan grande. Como EEUU, que tiene una capa social pero muchos sabemos que EEUU tienen muchos problemas, lo que pasa es que China es un tema tabú.

¿Es la censura un tema polémico en la actualidad?, ¿Cree que la gente se ve afectada por ello, o considera que es tan solo una forma de seguridad?
Yo creo que en China hay mucho control de prensa, pero yo por mi propia experiencia no tengo ningún problema en hacer propaganda a nada porque yo llevo viviendo fuera muchos años. Para mí ningún país ni ninguna prensa es totalmente objetiva, en todos los países está controlado por el interés de algo o de alguien. En China está muy controlado pero yo siempre confío totalmente de que ese control es por el bien de todos porque es un país que no se puede permitir ningún tipo de inestabilidad política porque le puede causar un cambio desastroso para la mayoría de la gente.

¿Se muestra más la censura en EEUU o en China?
No lo puedo comparar, pero tenemos que ser muy objetivos. No podemos criticar sin saber que EEUU la prensa está a manos de los judíos porque son los más poderosos económicamente hablando, y luego en China es más política. Pero yo creo que cualquier persona, desde el punto de vista de un occidental tiene que entender que es un país con mucha población y no tiene tanta tierra como se cree, porque hay una tercera parte que es inhabitable. Entonces con tanta gente, si no se controla con mano fuerte podría ser muy peligroso. Yo estoy muy de acuerdo con eso.

¿Cuál es su visión de futuro? ¿le gustaría volver a su país natal o se quedará más años viviendo en España?
Lamentablemente todo el mundo sabemos que ahora España está pasando una etapa muy mala y yo personalmente no estoy pasando demasiado mal porque justamente por eso de China y el chino estamos teniendo más trabajo pero aún así yo tengo muchas ganas de irme a China a vivir. Para vivir una buena etapa de China y para huir de una peor etapa de España que todo el mundo está sufriendo.

Muchas gracias por atender a esta entrevista Li Zhou, Shiji, espero no haberle quitado mucho tiempo.

Acerca de asiapacificm11
estudiantes: Eduardo Marquez Ibon Joung Virginia Mazon Sara Setien Ananda Cerdan

Los comentarios están cerrados.

