Middle East Interview about cultural differences to Yaser Mohamed Rashad Cano


Interview to Yaser Mohamed Rashad Cano by Sara Borja Gómez.

Cultural differences in societies.

I began saying the following: “Good afternoon, first of all let me thank you for having this interview with me and for contributing to this project of the class of “Observatory of the actuality”. The main objective of this interview is to get to know a little bit the of culture of the Middle East from the perspective of Yaser Mohamed Rashad Cano.”

 

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

 

“Hello, my name is Yaser Mohamed, I was born in Suhag, Egypt. Had a few years there even though I have no much memory about it except for the food, that I remember” (laughs in between). He moved to Mexico when he was just 6 years old (currently he is 2 he sais it was a little bit of a shock for him because it was entirely a big new change to move apart from the home he knew and away from his school and friends.

 

“Mexico got me for surprise, it was a different continent and a strange country but it was a good job opportunity for my parents so we took it”

 

Now he has been living there for 19 years and explains that his experience has given him a lot to understand his own culture and the differences and problems we are challenged to adapt to in an interchangeable society.

 

“Analyzing this point of view” he said and continued, “The analysis of the society and how it’s culture sets parameters for what is right or wrong inside of it, really caught my attention while growing up and got me the motivation for starting my own project about help and orientation for teenagers living in city areas where the conditions where not favorable for them.”

 

“I started my project when I was only 15 years old”. He explains his father had a friend involved in the government who told him a project was being launched with the purpose of giving young adults the opportunity of showing their idea to the responsible of culture administration of the city hall. “I was second place winner and they gave me a quantity of money to support my project.”

 

How did growing up in a totally different culture was for you?

 

“Well it definitely changes your perspective about how children of your own age grow up in different places and that you are more similar to them that you thought.” He explains how his project began to take form and how his interests leaned towards helping kids who came from problematic families.

“I along with other team mates which where with me in the project since the beginning, organized a program for cultural events for kids where they could assist to different events involving music, recreational areas, acting and so on.”

 

A year later, he got a job offer in the cultural area of the government, they offered him the cultural administration of the young kids and teenagers area. “Until now I have been working there”- he sais. “I have experienced a lot of changes from the success I could have had in Egypt initiating this project or another one similar” -he continues- “It doesn’t mean it would have been better or worse, it just means that moving to another country and changing my standards about society has helped me to develop a certain sensitiveness for cultural differences.”

 

Can you tell me what are you working on actually?

 

“At the moment I am working on a political campaign to support Mauricio Gongora who is a candidate running to be the next governor of the state of Quintana Roo in the next elections.”

 

He is in charge of going to different areas of the state and analyzing along with other team mates, those areas and how the situation of the families are, depending on the results of the surveys made to those families and other investigations made by the team.

“It is surprising to realize how much need there actually is in every country.”

 

Can you explain one aspect that you like most about this experience?

 

“What I enjoy the most is working day by day in communities that have a lot of challenges to overcome in order to have acceptable conditions of life.”

He sais it is frightening to realize how much people live in conditions that we would not accept in our daily life and try to understand their experiences and turn that into a better change for them and society, all along with the entire team. “It is a very rich experience in all of the senses and gives me so much to learn every day.”

 

He explains that when he goes back home he enjoys so much everything about it. “It is the best to go eat your favorite food in your natal country after a really long time”- he laughs.

 

Los comentarios están cerrados.

